

# CITY OF COCONUT CREEK SPECIAL CITY COMMISSION MINUTES

Government Center 4800 W. Copans Road Coconut Creek, Florida Date: May 8, 2025 Time: 5:30 p.m.

Meeting No. 2025-0508SP

### **CALL TO ORDER**

Mayor Jacqueline Railey called the meeting to order at 5:33 p.m.

## PRESENT UPON ROLL CALL:

Mayor Jacqueline Railey
Vice Mayor Jeffrey R. Wasserman
Commissioner Sandra L. Welch
Commissioner Joshua Rydell
Commissioner John A. Brodie
City Manager Sheila N. Rose
City Attorney Terrill C. Pyburn
City Clerk Joseph J. Kavanagh

Mayor Railey asked all to rise for the Pledge of Allegiance.

City Attorney Pyburn noted that the meeting was being conducted live with a quorum physically present and explained the procedures for the meeting.

# STUDENT AWARDS CEREMONY

Mayor Railey welcomed all in attendance to the City's sixteenth annual Student Awards Ceremony. She acknowledged the efforts of the parents, extended family members, and caregivers, followed by the school staff, teachers, and administrators.

State Representative Christine Hunschofsky celebrated the achievements and hard work of the students, as well as their families and caregivers. She stated none of this happens without a great support system and thanked the staff, teachers, and administrators who were invested in making sure Coconut Creek's young people have every opportunity they need.

Government Affairs Manager Bernadette Hughes thanked Parks and Recreation staff for their efforts to bring the event together. She opened the Student Award Ceremony to recognize exemplary elementary and middle school students. The following students were selected by the teachers and administrators for their outstanding achievements in academics, character, leadership, and community service:

**Coconut Creek Elementary School** (Jocelyn Reid, Principal): Penelope Anderson, Bradley Augustin, Cullen Black, Melina Luna, Anaiah Mondelus, Haldain Powell, Micah Sejour, Justin Thomas, Tran Vo, and Briana Zegarra.

**Liberty Elementary School** (Vicki Flournoy, Principal): Farah Aybar-Corporan, Samantha Castaneda, Leonardo Del Real, Anthony Hanna, Gemayela Justilien, Julia Louis, Abigail Pierre, Aurora Vazquez, and Ariya Viera.

Minutes May 8, 2025 – Special Commission Meeting Page 2

**Tradewinds Elementary School** (Dr. Priscille Elie, Principal): Kendrick Ayini, Ana Lara Borges, Irena Datta, Lara Dos Santos, Jacob Gil, Nicole Vaz Alvarenga, and Lorelei Wenig.

**Winston Park Elementary School** (Carolyn Eggelletion, Principal): Kamila Argueta, Christian Block, Lauren Colquhoun, Jasmine Kozlova, Mia McEwan, Dylan Medina Vasquez, Triston Port, and Selina White.

**Lyons Creek Middle School** (Leena Itty, Principal): Aleen Alhindi, Mariska Brown, Anna Bui, Blake Herbster, Eduardo Hurtade Ferraz, Cole Jackson, Kylie Lopez, Leah Rudas, Hernley Valcourt, and Kailiah Valcourt.

**Margate Middle School** (Sabine B. Phillips, Principal): Alberto Capellan Milian, Rellington Charles, Rozza Denton, Kevin Elliot, Kymauni Hopwood, Chinemelum Okafor, Dereck Pachecho Sarmiento, D'Andra Vazquez, and Zara Villa.

Ms. Hughes thanked everyone for coming to honor the students and wished the students a wonderful and successful future.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting was adjourned at 6:04 p.m.		
Joseph J. Kavanagh, MMC City Clerk	Date	