

# City of Coconut Creek

4800 West Copans Road Coconut Creek, FL 33063

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 21-095, Version: 1

## AGENDA ITEM REPORT

### TITLE:

A PRESENTATION RECOGNIZING THIS YEAR'S TEEN POLITICAL FORUM PARTICIPANTS.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

Each year the Teen Political Forum (TPF) brings together students from Coconut Creek's high schools to work together to design and execute an interactive event for students to ask questions of elected officials. Participating students are selected by their principals, and meet twice a month from October through April. The students develop the meeting agendas, determine who to invite, write the event script, develop marketing materials, and coordinate the event. They also serve as event moderators.

This year's TPF event was a challenge due to Covid, and the resulting virtual event designed by the students was a resounding success. More than 200 students attended, and the panelists included Congressman Ted Deutch, Representative Christine Hunschofsky, Broward County School Board Member Nora Rupert, Police Chief Arenal, City Commissioner Welch, and Senior Planner Linda Whitman. Additionally, to address the current political and social issues of this past year, the students also invited Supervisor of Elections Joe Scott, BCPS Diversity Director David Watkins, and Dr. Smith from the FAU College of Medicine.

The following 2020/2021 TPF students are being recognized for their outstanding work coordinating this event:

- ATC Aleena George, Toni Maxwell, Akayliah Simpson
- Broward College Joaquin Martinez, Hailey McTee, Emily Odza
- Monarch High School Jade Francis, Ailin Le, Ana Julia Nogueira
- Coconut Creek High School Milkin Vasquez, Kyra Bouchereau-Brown, Samsara Hammond

Atlantic Technical Center (ATC) is being recognized as the school with the highest student participation and will receive the annual TPF Trophy and a \$500 check donated by Wheelabrator Technologies. Attending from ATC is Assistant Director/Intern Principal Vicky LaPorte.

Broward College is being recognized for their in-kind donation of a Zoom license for the event and the provision of technical staff to assist before and during the TPF event. Attending for Broward College are Dr. Sunem Beaton-Garcia, Mr. Todd Bernhardt, Mr. Michael O'Neill, and Mr. Harold Bilbao.