

City of Coconut Creek

4800 West Copans Road Coconut Creek, FL 33063

Legislation Text

File #: 17-050, Version: 1

AGENDA ITEM REPORT

TITLE:

INVESTITURE OF ELECTED COMMISSIONERS FOR DISTRICTS B, C, AND E.

BACKGROUND:

At the end of the candidate qualifying period for the City's March 2017 Municipal Election, Mayor Mikkie Belvedere (District B) and Vice Mayor Joshua David Rydell (District E) were re-elected unopposed for a four-year term of office ending in March 2021.

On March 14, 2017, the City held a municipal election to fill the Commission seat in District C for a four-year term of office ending in March 2021, and Sandra (Sandy) L. Welch was elected.

Pursuant to Section 301(c)(2) of the City Charter, Commissioners newly elected and/or re-elected in a duly certified election shall be sworn into office and seated at the next regularly scheduled Commission meeting after certification of the election results. In the event such meeting is not scheduled for the first Thursday following said election, a special Commission meeting shall be held no later than three (3) days from the date of the certification of the election by the Broward County Supervisor of Elections.