

CITY OF COCONUT CREEK SPECIAL CITY COMMISSION MINUTES

Government Center 4800 W. Copans Road Coconut Creek, Florida Date: May 11, 2017

Time: 5:30 p.m.

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Rebecca A. Tooley called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

PRESENT UPON ROLL CALL:

Mayor Rebecca A. Tooley
Vice Mayor Joshua Rydell
Commissioner Lou Sarbone
Commissioner Mikkie Belvedere
Commissioner Sandra L. Welch
Assistant City Manager Karen M. Brooks
City Attorney Terrill C. Pyburn
City Clerk Leslie Wallace May

STUDENT AWARDS RECOGNITION CEREMONY

Karen Brooks, Assistant City Manager/Director of Finance and Administrative Services, opened the Student Award Ceremony to recognize exemplary elementary, middle, and high school students in the community.

The following elementary school students were chosen by their fifth grade teachers for their excellence in academics, character, and leadership:

<u>Winston Park Elementary</u> (Principal Carolyn Eggelletion): Ashante Anderson, Priscilla Figueiredo, Lexi Jackson, Samantha Johns, Rachel Laine, Isabella Matheson, Wendy Montana-Quinonez, Karla Rodriguez, and Luana Santiago.

<u>Coconut Creek Elementary (Principal Katherine Good)</u>: Shirley Alberto, Adriana Liverman, Samantha Rivera, Pedro Soma, and Fares Taslaq.

<u>Liberty Elementary</u> (Principal David Levine): Jaylen Candelaria, Kayla Henry, Dalia Montoto Gonzalez, Christopher Pickett, Redjy Romain, Katelan Scott, and Karen Valdovinos.

<u>Tradewinds Elementary</u> (Principal Michael Breslaw): Anthony Birro, Brianna Breslaw, Heather Breslaw, Nathalia Davis, John De Freitas, Brielle Feldman, Trent Ferrier, Hadassah Feu, Ana Mendez, Sara Reichbach, Jessica Russo, Joshua Stevens, and Luisa Vieira.

The following middle school students were chosen by their eighth grade teachers for their excellence in academics, citizenship, performing arts, leadership and/or athletics:

<u>Lyons Creek Middle School</u> (Principal Horace Hamm): Jaden Alexis, Sara Bernasconi, Isabella Borges, Gianna Gentile, Chloe Joseph, Saman Nasir, Carlie Nussbaum, Haleigh Proctor-Allen, Bradley Reynolds, and Damian Richter.

Minutes May 11, 2017 –Special City Commission Meeting Page 2

Margate Middle School (Principal Earnest C. Toliver): Brandon Catalano, Ashanti Collins, Ana Da Cruz, Lydia Deng, Clarisse Hilaire, Amandi Oakley, and Karolina Rusek.

The following high school seniors were chosen by their teachers and administrators for their excellence in academics, leadership, character, and community service:

<u>Atlantic Technical High</u> (Assistant Director Vicky LaPorte): Evan Kessman, Jessica Ladanowski, Bolatito Olowofela, Melissa Rowe, and Lily Schleider.

<u>Coconut Creek High</u> (Principal Scott Fiske): Lisa George, Quywanah Johnson, Rachel Lorfils, Mike Lucien, and Julienson Medor.

<u>Dave Thomas Education Center</u> (Principal Tracy Lockhart-Talley): Christopher Benites, Yrosena Cine, Rosecarmelle Desjardins, Brianna Gray, Sarena Harris, Gersley Hector, Nicole Melo, and Doralie Rodney.

<u>Monarch High School</u> (Principal James Neer): Nicole Carita, Anthony Lessa, Janet Lopez, Sabrina Mitson, and Alan Nguyen.

North Broward Preparatory (Principal Jamie Otis and College Counselor Karen Seagull): Amanda Blum, Beatriz De Souza Kauffman, Carmen Sierra Horn, Amanda McCabe, and Yash Moondhra.

Assistant City Manager Brooks thanked everyone for coming to honor the students and wished the students success in their future endeavors.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 6:13 p.m.	Transcribed by Marianne Bowers
Leslie Wallace May, MMC	Dated